I am new to Opconfig , and been reading documentation. Also am not a full fledged programmer, I know some python that I usually use to automate device configuration ( I know the basics).. I ve setup a lab with opconfig and two Juniper VMX device. I am basically trying to run before I could walk at this stage but I think I grasped the basics,, I am trying to do the following : VMX-VCP1 device considered has base config, and am comparing that configuration against another device VMX-VCP2. I have wrote a python script and basically used some module to compare the files and have an output of the difference with ignoring some parameters.

In Opconfig Command set:

'commands' => [ { 'tags' => ['DAILY', 'configuration', 'detect-change', 'junos'], 'command' => "ler-pair-diff", 'use_collection_plugin' => "VMXDIFF", }, 'tags' => ['DAILY', 'configuration', 'detect-change', 'junos'], 'command' => 'show configuration | display set | match interfaces',
'privileged' => 'true', 'store_internal' => 'false',
'multipage' => 'true',
'command_filters' => [ '/Last commit/', '/MEL-DN1-LAB-LER/', '/192.168.4./',

I have the two devices files configuration output of "show configuration | display set | match interfaces" saved locally from Opconfig on :

abooda@nmis-opconfig:/usr/local/omk/var/opconfig/external$ ls -l

total 12 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 226 Jul 9 05:19 VMX-COMMON.txt drwxr-xr-x 6 root root 4096 Jul 7 05:42 VMX-VCP1 drwxr-xr-x 6 root root 4096 Jul 7 05:42 VMX-VCP2

I created a txt file called VMX-COMMON.txt which have the commands sets that I want to ignore, Then I have a python script that uses a module (not reinventing the wheel here) to do the comparison, the script is simple and looks like this :

abooda@nmis-opconfig:/usr/local/omk/conf/config_plugins$ cat vmx-diff.py

import diffios
def config_diff(f1,f2,ignore):
diff = diffios.Compare(f1,f2,ignore) if not diff.delta() == '--- baseline\n+++ comparison\n\n\n': return print(diff.delta())